Hair Horror

The hair adventures were going so well until recently! Weeks ago I went into a hair shop and found a colour-depositing shampoo with violet tones. It’s by De Lorenzo and it’s called Nova Colour Fusion. Little did I know that the ingredients must have contained what is known as “metallic salts”, which react badly to bleach. Henna has metallic salts, which is why you shouldn’t colour over henna. The metallic salts in this shampoo caused my hair to turn GREEN when I next went in to get my regrowth seen to. 

It was pretty shocking. Picture yellowy blonde hair, with green and some faded purple left in the ends. Actually I’ll show you. Refer below…

green-hair-2

green-hair

The images were taken with my mobile and then crunched down in WordPress, so the quality’s not great, but you get the idea.

We coloured over the whole lot in a violet composed of blue mixed with red (I had exhausted all of their violet dye) and it didn’t look too bad, but the green was still a little visible. It showed through as a brownish tinge, and got worse as the colour faded. Meanwhile, the roots had been bleached quite a pale yellow blonde, so in places like the top of my head the colour was bright violet blue. 

SO, yesterday I took matters into my own hands. I bought some 20 vol bleach, and lightened my hair, all but the roots. Then I rinsed and shampooed, and coloured with a mixture Special Effects Blue Haired Freak and Purple Smoke. I cling-wrapped my head and left the colour in for ages – well over two hours. When I finally rinsed, I found that the water ran fairly clear straight away, and the hand that I used to run through my dye-soaked hair did not come away stained in purple. It was really strange. The colour didn’t seem to take hold, and when I dried off, I found the end result was a faded grey violet. I felt like an aged anime character with lavender grey hair. 

I’m not sure what happened but I suspect it was something to do with either the bleaching process or the state of my hair. I’m sure it wasn’t the Special Effects. I did notice as I rinsed away the bleach that my hair felt strangely smooth and silky – almost slimey in fact. And when I applied the purple, I saw straight away that it didn’t seem to be taking hold. Even after I had saturated my hair in dye, I could still kind of see through it. Strange. 

I didn’t have time to do anything more to it yesterday though, so I just went out like that, wearing all black I might add, because I didn’t have any clothes that went with my hair colour!

Should have taken a picture. It didn’t look half bad, but it wasn’t really the shade I was after. 

Currently as I sit here typing, I’ve got Alfaparf Jean’s Colour in Magenta waiting to be rinsed. I’m hoping this will work this time, I think it will because it was soaking in a lot better than yesterday.

Leave a Reply

