Today

It’s school holidays and uni holidays at the moment, but it hasn’t felt like a holiday because if I don’t plan a decent amount of practice into my day I start having nervous palpitations. Well today I thought “to hell with that” and gave myself a day off. Lounged around in my cosy pink dressing gown, didn’t shower til well into the afternoon, read a large chunk of a book that’s been patiently waiting to be read for some weeks, DIYed a chain harness, made a vegetarian lasagne and walked the dog!

For some reason I find it incredibly hard to resist buying books. Same goes for stationery. Officeworks and Borders, mmmmmmm…… I always buy books and then don’t have time to read them. The book I sank my teeth into today was “Tales of Earthsea” by Ursula Le Guin, one of my favourite authors of all time. My love of fantasy and sci-fi novels hearkens back to days of teenager-dom, and although I’ve mainly outgrown this nerdy habit, certain quality authors still retain a special place in my heart. As far as I’m concerned, Ursula Le Guin and Robin Hobb (another favourite) don’t just write fantasy/sci-fi fiction, they write fantasy/sci-fi literature. Ahem.

Poor Bear Bear doesn’t get walked nearly as much as he should. But he doesn’t make things easy. A decent walk can’t be achieved unless two people go, myself and Little Brother. When Bear was young he would get freaked out by other pedestrians, lawnmowers, the sound of traffic from several roads away, etc, and simply WOULD NOT walk any further. I think middle age has made him calmer, but he’s still fucking difficult. Currently he is curled up on a cushion on the floor in front of the heater.

Yesterday, after much initial fail, I set up my keyboard as a midi device. I’ve been teaching myself to use Reason by reading the “Getting Started” file. I had much success yesterday. Turns out it’s not nearly as hard as I thought it would be. Also I am excited by keyboard + laptop + software = soooo many possibilities for production, recording, performing.

Speaking of which, the album my band have been working on is nearly done. We had our (hopefully) last mixing session in the studio this week. Next up is mastering and artwork/photos, then finally, pressing. I am hurrah because this has been dragging out for so long and I am feeling quite distanced from the project. Hm, well not to say it’s taken longer than it should have to make the album, I think next time will take even longer, but instead of having the time between recording and the finished mix drag out so long, it would be better imo to spend more time in pre-production and recording and less time mixing. Nonetheless, I really love all aspects of recording. And I really love performing and I get to do that next week, woot!

Tonight I am going to a party and I can already tell it’s going to be good because now I’m in a heaps good mood from recounting my day and stuff I’ve been doing. Makes me realise I quite like my life.

Leave a Reply

