Bear Bear’s Grand Adventure

Bear Bear's Grand Adventure

Bearsy’s nails were getting way too long. He hates anyone touching his feet, but I managed to catch a glimpse of one of the back toenails that had grown so long it was curling over towards the paw. I’ve been doing a few internet searches and reading up on the available information. If the nail grows too long, it can dig into the paw and can affect the dog’s gait, potentially causing serious health problems like arthritis later on!

I didn’t know dog owners should get their pets used to having their paws held and handled from a young age. So I am starting late, and it will be a long-term project, but already in the last few days there has been sweet progress! Instead of immediately recoiling, he now lets me touch and even hold his paw gently, albeit for short amounts of time. Once I get him to a stage where he is more comfortable with me handling his paw, I’m going to introduce him to the clippers. Apparently you should hold them near him, let him sniff them, and then gently tap them on his nails.

So it will be a long gradual process, but I hope that someday I will be able to cut his nails myself! It would be good to cut just the tips every week or fortnight in order to make the quick recede. In the past, I’ve always taken him to the groomers to get his nails cut. He hates going to the groomers. The level of discomfort varies with whoever is trimming his nails. He was having okay experiences there, but the last time I took him, he totally freaked out. The lady brought him out and asked me to hold him, and she cut into the quick and made him bleed. He clawed at me like crazy. And he even NIPPED her! After that negative experience, I was putting it off, hoping that regular walking would grind his nails down.

Unfortunately, he must walk funny, or SOMETHING because that one errant back paw nail grew long and curled. So while I am aiming to be trimming his nails myself, in the meantime I had to do something about that nail.

This morning we went to the groomers. I was prepared with plenty of treats in my pockets. I think he always knows where we’re going as soon as we hit Portrush Road, because he starts getting anxious. As soon as I let him out the car he started pulling the other way and putting up a fight, so I had to pick him up and carry him inside. No treats could distract him from clawing anxiously at the window once he was inside.

Fortunately, the girl who cut his nails was not the same lady as last time, and although he was apparently unwilling (I could hear intermittent whining) when she brought him out she said that he had been alright.

"His" chair

Yay! Relief! I had been really worried about him. The girl said that all his nails were quite short except for two very long ones, one on each back paw, that had curled over. Now the two long ones are no longer curled, and all the others have been cut back to the quick. In a week or two, I want to try tipping them again.

After our adventure at the groomers we went to visit my boyfriend’s house. I don’t think I’ve ever seen Bear so happy. He sniffed EVERYTHING inside and out. And then he peed on the floor. Urgh.

Then we came home.

He is quite eccentric, but he is my favourite dog.

In the Sun

Leave a Reply

