Popy Jane photoshoot

Popy Jane

Popy Jane

Popy Jane

I was recently asked by some mates to take some promo shots of their band, Popy Jane (formerly known as Arturo). It’s the first time I’ve been asked to take portraits – usually it’s me asking people to pose for me. It was a real learning experience. I feel lucky that I’ve had the experience of having my photo taken for my own band because I could really empathize with how it feels to be on the other side of the lens. Some words of encouragement to let your subjects know they’re doing alright can go a long way towards relaxing them. And going ahead and posing your subjects helps to alleviate awkwardness. One thing I discovered is that awkwardness comes through very easily into the photo as stiffness in the body, it can all look a bit forced.

The outing was also a great chance for me to get to know my flash. I bought a Nissin Speedlite Di622 while in Hong Kong and this was the first time I really gave it a good go. There was lots of trial and error, but I think the Speedlite and I are probably going to be firm friends.

Of the pictures above, the top one is my favourite of the lot. The second one is definitely not a “technically” good picture, but I still rather like it, and the third is a fun shot we took in a 24-hour convenience store.

2 thoughts on “Popy Jane photoshoot

Leave a Reply

